As a Church of England Voluntary Aided school the governors alongside the head teacher and senior leadership team set the vision and the strategic direction of the school. The governing body is responsible for monitoring the school on its educational performance and ensuring that financial resources are well spent. The governing body is a critical friend of the school offering support and challenging the leadership to ensure the school and children make expected progress within the ethos of the school.

As a voluntary aided school we are responsible for raising 10% towards any capital spending on our school. Our most recent project was to replace a demountable classroom (hut) with two new classrooms.

At Bisley the governors meet termly to scrutinise data and check progress of the children, monitor policies and keep up to date with government and Diocesan legislation. They meet with all staff in the summer term to set priorities for the forthcoming academic year as set out in the school development plan.

The governing body consists of:

  • foundation governors, appointed from recommendations by the Rector and Parochial Church Council;
  • parent governors, voted for by parents of children at the school for a term of four years;
  • staff governors include the head teacher and representatives from both teaching and support staff.

The minutes of all meetings are available to view by appointment with the school office.


Governor Type    
Type Code Type Description Number
FA PCC Foundation Governor 8
STH Headteacher 1
LA LA Governor 1
PA Parent Governor 2
ST Staff Governor 1
Co-optd Co-opted 1


Governor Name
Start Date
End Date

Mrs Carole Fisher - Clerk

CK I  01.09.2014  
Vacancy LA G, A  
Rev Andy Armitt EO G 26.10.2008  
Mr Mark Jones FA PCC G,RE 01.09.2013 31.08.2017
Mrs Samantha Marshall PA PCC Y 19-12-2015 18-12-2019
Miss Lynsey Stiff ST G, N 01-01-2017 04-01-2021
Mrs Clare McConnell STH G 01.09.2016  
Mrs Julie Holt FA PCC X 01.10.2013 30.09.2017
Mr Bilal Hassan Ahktar PA G  01.05.2015 30.04.2019
Dr Nathan Charles CPtd C 01.09.2012 01.08.2020
Mrs Maureen Vaughan FA PCC G 07.07.2009 06.07.2017
Mr Hugh Mckerrow Cowan AA G, N 01-Feb-2017 31-Jan-2021
Mrs Bronwen Hall FA PCC V 01.09.2011 31.08.2019


Governor Status Descriptions
C Chairman N New Governor
G Ordinary Governor RE RE Governor
I In Attendance T Hon Treasurer
ICT ICT  V Vice Chairman
L Link Governor X Literacy Governor
Y Numeracy Governor P Child Protection
Z Special Needs Governor A

Looked After Childen Governor

CPtd Co-opted    

To access the governors secure private area, please log in here.

Pecuniary Interest 2016-2017.pdf

Page Hits: 01689